Gypsy decadence.

When I was younger I was fascinated by gypsies. I loved looking at them, but was scared to get close. There are two, very vivid memories I have of gypsies. The first one is simple, but I’ll never forget it. I was walking through a dirt road with my mother, I’m not sure where we were or where we were headed, but in this dirt road there was a colony of gypsies. When we passed it, my mother held me closer, started walking faster, and held my wrist tight. I saw all these colorful fabrics making what looked like tends. It was dirty, there were jewels hanging, and all these interesting items on the floors like old suitcases, old, dirty clothes, old books. I wanted to go inside and look through them. Paisley always reminds me of a gypsy’s tent.

Another encounter was one I had was one that I remember so vividly, yet it’s so simple. It was a dank day and my mother, my aunt, my cousin and I were at the beach, and whilst my mom and my aunt drank coconut water by the boardwalk, my cousin and I were running around in the sand. The beach was almost completely deserted, and I started running further and further away from my cousin. I found myself sort of alone for a bit, and there was this gypsy woman standing in the sand. She was wearing these old leather sandals, and these deep red and deep green light fabric dress, layered with many different light and see-through fabrics. She smiled at me and waved. I stood still but she walked closer and closer. Then my cousin called me and I turned around and ran to her. My cousin was so scared she almost cried, and my mother punished me that day for getting close to a gypsy. Everytime I tell someone this story they tell me she probably wanted to steal me, and, I always think to myself “well, what if she did?”.  I believe I do have a very strong gypsy decadence. I won’t go into detail as to why, but I do.

My gypsy rules that I don’t apply to my life because they are gypsy rules, but these are things I do that I think are gypsy like:

No.1 : Everything exsists because it can prove useful to you. Fire, Lies, and everything else, but you must know when to use it.

No.2 : Nobody/nothing upsets you for more than 24 hours.

No.3 : Don’t forget, those scars are sitting on the surface of your skin for a reason.

No.4 : The ugly surface conceals so many great things, and there’s a thin line between thinking and feeling.

No.5 : Make things.

No.6 : Always dance in your mind, never march.

No.7 : If you ever feel like that mystic feeling of a greater being is you, it is. But that’s not all it is.

N0.8 : You’re alone.

No. 9 : Fortune telling is a series of give and take, and not every question has one true answer. Be patient.

No. 10 : You’re at home everywhere.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gypsy decadence.

  1. Number 3 sounds a bit like Harry Potter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

